Skip To Content
Five Novels of Change (Novels) is a Course

Five Novels of Change (Novels)

Time limit: 182 days
1 credit

Sorry! The enrollment period is currently closed. Please check back soon.

Full course description

Course Overview

In this course, you will read and write about five novels that have emerged as American literary classics: Mark Twain's "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn," J.D. Salinger's "The Catcher in the Rye," Ernest Hemingway's "The Old Man and the Sea," Kurt Vonnegut's "Slaughterhouse-Five," and Ernest J. Gaines' "A Lesson Before Dying." Although they span more than one-hundred years in American literary history, the novels share a common theme: personal growth and change. NOTE: The novels in this course deal with mature but important themes.

This course is designed for high-school seniors.


English 9 and 10 strongly suggested, but not required.

Required Materials

The following books are required for this course:

Gaines, Ernest J. A Lesson Before Dying. Vintage Books, 1997. ISBN (9780375702709)

Hemingway, Ernest The Old Man and the Sea. Scribner, 1999. ISBN (9780684801223)

Salinger, J. D. The Catcher in the Rye. Lb Books, 1991. ISBN (9780316769488)

Twain, Mark Huckleberry Finn. Penguin, 1985. ISBN (9780142437179)

Vonnegut, Kurt Slaughterhouse-Five. Dell Publishing Company, 1991. ISBN (9780440180296) 

How to Enroll

Enrolling through this site requires JavaScript to be enabled. If you cannot enable JavaScript, you can complete your registration by logging into the IUHS Student Information System.